Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (6) </ [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: Does DSL write *anything* to the hdd?< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
304 Offline

Group: Awaiting Authorisation
Posted: May 03 2007,08:17 QUOTE

Hi. I downloaded DSL and it doesn't work. How do I fix this? Thnks.

Just kidding! But I am an absolute newb with dsl and linux in general.

I done a rough search, but I don't expect anyone to have asked what I will:

I need a machine that is absolutely clean if the feds break my door down and seize my computer. I need a system that I can access the net with, do my business and then shut it off and have no stored records. So far DSL seems to be perfect.

But does DSL write any temporary stuff to HDD? ie: I'm thinking about any kind of swap file (yeah I'm a winblows kid).

I wont be executing any commands to store settings or downloaded packages to the HDD etc.

From my limited exposure to linux and DSL, I assume the answer is that nothing is written to the HDD as it is never mounted. But it's worth my while to check.

(also, the HDD is formatted with NTFS, though I think from memory I have a Fat32 partition as welll)

For those of you who may have some moral dilemma helping me out with the knowledge that I'm obviously doing something illegal, I'm purchasing steroids which are for my own personal use. I wont be selling crack cocaine to school kids or anything morally unacceptable like that.
Profile PM 
lucky13 Offline

Group: Members
Posted: May 03 2007,12:44 QUOTE