Damn Small Linux (DSL) Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 31, 2014, 01:44:03 PM

Login with username, password and session length
News
The new DSL forums are now open.
Stats
297772 Posts in 294157 Topics by 217 Members
Latest Member: WLftDIjrqp
Search:     Advanced search
* Home Help Search Login Register
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic

+  Damn Small Linux (DSL) Forums
|-+  Damn Small Linux
| |-+  HD Install
| | |-+  Trouble getting dsl (on USB) to recognize hard drive and also a USB modem
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Trouble getting dsl (on USB) to recognize hard drive and also a USB modem  (Read 4713 times)
davec60
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Email
« on: July 15, 2012, 07:44:54 AM »

Hi,

I am fairly ‘new’ to both Linux and dsl and have very limited knowledge of both. I have recently downloaded and installed the dsl iso on to an USB (via Unetbootin) but:

1)  I have so far found it impossible to ‘install’ that live USB version to my netbook’s hard drive. ie. I have followed the relevant instructions in the help file and on various websites and I have tried a hard drive install (frugal or regular) via both the menu option and also more directly via a root shell but still no luck. The problem seems to be that it does not seem to recognize the hard drive at all ie. cfdisk does not show it, nor do the mount options in the menu and desktop. I have tried to amend /etc/fstab to add the hard drive to it but it is read-only so that has failed too.
2)  I have also found it impossible to  get dsl to recognize my USB modem and cannot therefore connect to the internet either.

In both cases, is there anything that I need to do to get things working properly ie. is there something that I first need to adjust to get both the USB modem and the hard drive itself recognised by dsl.? (This is my second dsl iso ‘download/USB install’ and it is producing the very same problems as the first one so, as far as I can tell, it is not a ‘defective’ download). Thanks,
davec60
Logged
CrystalMV
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2012, 09:37:31 AM »

Maybe you have SATA hard drive? In such case, you need to use "sata" boot option. At least that's how I make it recognize my HD.
Logged
CyberHollow
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2012, 08:33:25 PM »

I seem to be having the same problem, except I am booting from CD Drive.  It boots up sort of and then stops and says "Checking for for USB... "  15 min later I am still looking at that same thing.  Any Ideas?  This happens on both the Live and install, and all 3 of my computers (2 desk top, 1 laptop).  It wont go further.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2012, 08:47:22 PM by CyberHollow » Logged
davec60
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2012, 04:23:11 PM »

Thanks to CrystalMV for your reply. You have helped solve the problem as regards getting the hard drive recognised.

In case anyone else has a similar difficulty, my netbook is an Asus 1011PX. Under the ‘IDE configuration’ heading (in the BIOS) there are 2 particular sub-headings ie.
 1)‘ATA/IDE CONFIGURATION’ with the following options:
-disabled
-compatible
-enhanced.
2) ‘CONFIGURE SATA’ with options
-IDE or
-AHCI.

The manufacturer had set these to ‘enhanced’ and ‘AHCI’ and this did not allow the hard drive to be recognised when trying to install DSL to the hard drive from a USB-based iso.

I therefore first changed the CONFIGURE SATA option to IDE (instead of AHCI) and then changed the ATA/IDE CONFIGURATION to ‘compatible’ (instead of ‘enhanced’) and this allowed a hard drive install with all of the other partitions on the hard drive being accessible within the new hd install.

Unfortunately, I still cannot get my USB modem configured via PPP dial (the ‘create a connection’ box just keeps disappearing every time I ask it to create a connection). I will post again on that issue in another part of the forum.

Thanks
davec60
Logged
kswoodsman
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2012, 08:10:54 AM »

years back I had a machine with a 'win-modem' that used module ltmodem.o and was found on /dev/ttyS15 instead of the usual /dev/ttyS[1-4] .

You might try the commnd (as root)
# insmod ltmodem
or (as dsl)
$ sudo insmod ltmodem

Then see what output dmesg has with the command sting
$ dmesg  | tail -10
Look for output corresponding to your modem. If insmod gives an error that ltmodem is already installed
 pipe dmesg to less and search for it manually.
Use this info to configure ppp and you might be 'golden' .
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Mercury design by Bloc