Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: install issues, old computer< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
yohan233 Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan. 2004
Posted: Jan. 13 2004,05:04 QUOTE

hey everyone  im trying to put DSL 0.5.2 on an old pentium 100mhz w/ 40 mb RAM.  i know this somewhat modest hardware meets the system requirements, but after it finds the cd (i have to boot from floppy) i get something like this:
"VFS: Close: File count is 0" it says that repeatedly, no clue im an intermediate linux user (vector/slackware) and ive never seen an uglier error message.  any help would be greatly appreciated.
Back to top
Profile PM 
peter Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: Jan. 2004
Posted: Jan. 18 2004,14:52 QUOTE

I'm no expert either, but I just googled your error message in Google Groups and from what I saw it seems likely to be either a memory hardware problem or something equally unpleasant to do with the hard drive.

I suggest you paste the error as above in the search field for Google Groups and have a look - unless you have had another OS running successfully on that box,  in which case I'd be checking that there is a functional swap partition and your drive is properly formatted for Linux etc....

I might be totally off in my diagnosis, though, so I hope someone with more knowledge steps up for you.
Back to top
Profile PM 
enthusi Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: Dec. 2003
Posted: Jan. 18 2004,17:08 QUOTE

Hmmm, strange one...
I run DSL on a non-Pentium 100Mhz with 32 RAM quite fine btw (also Floppybooted)...
VFS error? Seems to be the VirtualFileSystem in Memory?
I just post to tell that the hardware setting itself should not be a prob...
I'd think that such an error would come if there's an error with your RAM but hats very odd and not very common..
I cant help any further than to give teh advice above again...
There are some kernalfrealks arround here - so hopefully someone gets your prob...
Good luck!
(you did not try to boot with the "toram"-option, did you?)

silence tells me secretly...
DSL on
cf-frugal-install on 700Mhz P3, 320 MB ram
cf-frugal & usb for via epia 5000, 512 MB ram
Back to top
Profile PM ICQ 
2 replies since Jan. 13 2004,05:04 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: install issues, old computer

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code