Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
 

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: Internet connection through proxy< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
axel Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: April 2006
Posted: April 03 2006,19:29 QUOTE

I have installed DSL on my second computer and i want to connect to the internet through a proxy server that i run on my first computer. In other words i want to use http,ftp and apt-get through a proxy.

I have read that in debian you just have to add the line
Acquire::http::Proxy "http://proxy:8080";
into a file such as /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/proxy
However the file /etc/apt doesn't even exist. I tried to create it as well as the file named proxy but i didn't get anywhere.

Any ideas?
Back to top
Profile PM 
axel Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: April 2006
Posted: April 03 2006,21:00 QUOTE

I tried to add the following lines to /opt/bootlocal.sh and to /etc/profile

export http_proxy=http://my.domain.com:port/
export ftp_proxy=http://my.domain.com:port/
export HTTP_PROXY=http://my.domain.com:port/
export FTP_PROXY=http://my.domain.com:port/

None of them worked.

In a fedora installation that i have i have created two files which i have placed in /etc/profile.d to gain access through proxy. I suppose something similar i have to do in DSL but i can't figure out what...

Those are the files
proxy.csh

setenv http_proxy http://my.domain.com:port/
setenv ftp_proxy http://my.domain.com:port/
setenv no_proxy .my.gateway
setenv HTTP_PROXY http://my.domain.com:port/
setenv FTP_PROXY http://my.domain.com:port/

proxy.sh

export http_proxy=http://my.domain.com:port/
export ftp_proxy=http://my.domain.com:port/
export no_proxy=.my.gateway
export HTTP_PROXY=http://my.domain.com:port/
export FTP_PROXY=http://my.domain.com:port/
Back to top
Profile PM 
axel Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: April 2006
Posted: April 03 2006,22:26 QUOTE

Solved

Finally i found it!  :D

I added the following lines in my user's .bash_profile after the export line. Logout, login and you have inet.

export http_proxy='http://my.domain.com:port/'
export https_proxy='http://my.domain.com:port/'
export ftp_proxy='http://my.domain.com:port/'
export HTTP_PROXY='http://my.domain.com:port/'
export HTTPS_PROXY='http://my.domain.com:port/'
export FTP_PROXY='http://my.domain.com:port/'

In Dillo and Firefox you have to add the proxy info at the options dialog in order them to access the internet.
Back to top
Profile PM 
pr0f3550r Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 378
Joined: Dec. 2005
Posted: April 04 2006,18:21 QUOTE

That's overkill. You only need:

export http_proxy='http://my.domain.com:port/'

export ftp_proxy='http://my.domain.com:port/'

Then restart bash ( or source .bash_profile) and Dillo, wget, apt-get will automatically get the variables from there.
http://www.damnsmalllinux.org/wiki...._Server


--------------
THE QEMU FORUM: http://qemu.dad-answers.com/index.php

QEMU ON WINDOWS: http://www.h7.dion.ne.jp/~qemu-win/

How to use floppy, CD-ROM and hard disk - http://www.h7.dion.ne.jp/~qemu-win/HowToFloppyCdrom-en.html

How to use network - http://www.h7.dion.ne.jp/~qemu-win/HowToNetwork-en.html
Back to top
Profile PM 
3 replies since April 03 2006,19:29 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

 
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: Internet connection through proxy

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code