Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (2) </ [1] 2 >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: Stripping DSL, How to strip things from DSL?< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
Dirtbiter Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: April 2005
Posted: April 13 2005,12:28 QUOTE

Hello!

I am new to DSL, and a newbie to Linux alltogether, so I have a few questions. I would like to put them all in one topic.

I am using a PCM-3350 processor board from Advantech, and all I really need is a basic Linux kernel with some libc and console functions.

Questions:

-  I would like to strip allmost all apps from DSL, because i don't need them. How can I do this? I have read about remastering, but as far as I understand it, it is only to add more programs and functions and not to strip some.
- How can I modify the default boot. I would like to boot into runlevel 2 without USB, ethernet, PCMCIA, FireWire, DHCP etc. Now I always have to enter this information at boot. I would like to make shure it boots like that default.
- How can I make shure DSL does not autoconfigure it's devices? It makes the boot slow, and I don't have a lot of devices to be configured. (only keyboard, cd-rom, monitor and compact flash trough IDE interface are connected)
- When booting, it tries to mount /hdc2, that's the second partition on my compact flash card. But it does not succeed. It says:
Code Sample

mount: can't find /mnt/hdc2
/mnt/hdc2 in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
umount: /mnt/hdc2
/mnt/hdc2: not found


But in my /etc/fstab is:
Code Sample

/dev/hdc1  /  ext2 defaults,errors=remount-ro  0  1
proc  /proc  proc  defaults  0  0
/dev/fd0  /floppy  vfat  defaults,user,noauto,showexec,umask=022  0  0
/dev/cdrom  /cdrom  iso9660  defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto  0  0
# partitions found by dsl
#/dev/hdc1 /mnt/hdc1 ext2 noauto,users,exec  0  0
#/dev/hdc2 /mnt/hdc2 ext2 noauto,users,exec  0  0
# Added by KNOPPIX
/dev/hdc2 /mnt/hdc2 ext2 noauto,users,exec  0  0


and my /etc/mtab says:
Code Sample

/dev/hdc1  /  ext2 rw,errors=remount-ro  0  0
/proc  /proc  proc re 0  0
/dev/pts /dev/pts devpts rw 0  0


What do I need to add/edit to make it work?
- How can I disable the ethernet device? do DHCP helps some, but does not disable the eth0.

I have been reading a lot on this forum, but I can't find the right topics. I hope someone can find the time to help me with this.


--------------
New on DSL...
Back to top
Profile PM 
tronik Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 182
Joined: Dec. 2004
Posted: April 13 2005,13:14 QUOTE

As for most of your questions, spend a little time in DSL and figure it out, its actually very simple and all of those are ALREADY covered on the forums ;)

As per the first remark about remastering being difficult to understand, I would say hundreds if not thousands of people have been able to remaster...You said you're a Linux new guy so, spend a little time in Linux and you might find its not as hard as you first thought. ;)

For the record, I would think just the opposite from reading about remastering. Adding programs in is a lot more difficult than removing them. ;) There is a thread devoted specifically to remastering DSL here on these forums.

In response to your mofidying the boot...how to boot without those features would be found by hitting 'f2' at the boot menu like the bootloader says to do =)...in fact most of the 'cheat codes' are on those screens.

Enjoy learning =)


--------------
-william
atlanta, GA, USA

DSL 1.0+2.4.27/sata : P4 2.4norwood : 512ddr2 : nvgf4ti4200-64 : 128mbLexar Jumpdrive Elite
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
Dirtbiter Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: April 2005
Posted: April 13 2005,13:22 QUOTE

Quote (tronik @ April 13 2005,15:14)
As for most of your questions, spend a little time in DSL and figure it out, its actually very simple and all of those are ALREADY covered on the forums ;)

As per the first remark about remastering being difficult to understand, I would say hundreds if not thousands of people have been able to remaster...You said you're a Linux new guy so, spend a little time in Linux and you might find its not as hard as you first thought. ;)

For the record, I would think just the opposite from reading about remastering. Adding programs in is a lot more difficult than removing them. ;) There is a thread devoted specifically to remastering DSL here on these forums.

In response to your mofidying the boot...how to boot without those features would be found by hitting 'f2' at the boot menu like the bootloader says to do =)...in fact most of the 'cheat codes' are on those screens.

Enjoy learning =)

Thanks for the quick reply. I find the search option of the forum not so usefull, because it comes up with a lot of irrelevant information. I have found the remastering guides and read them, but i will do it again if you think it's good. I am just getting tired of not finding what i'm looking for on the forums...

I know that its possible to insert boot cheat codes, but I have done a HD install, and want DSL to boot with some of those cheatcodes by default. I have editted lilo.conf, but that didn't work.

Ofcource I will be searching the forum for some more information, but after a week of fulltime searching and trying (it's for work) I am getting tired of it. So if anyone can point me to the right tread or just give a simple answer, I would be thankfull.


--------------
New on DSL...
Back to top
Profile PM 
clivesay Offline





Group: Guests
Posts: 935
Joined: Dec. 2003
Posted: April 13 2005,13:39 QUOTE

Looks like you are trying to do alot of things at once..Pretty adventurous for a new user. :) I think you would be better off to break this down into sections.

First let's look at the cheatcodes. I really great way to get your cheatcodes automated on the live cd is with the mkmydsl script. This allows you to make a custom DSL cd. You will find it in the DSL menu. If you have enough memory, I would suggest at least 512 but 256 may work, and a CD burner.....

Boot the DSL cd with the 'dsl toram' bootcode. This loads DSL into ram.

Create something like a /newcd directory and run the mkmydsl script from the menu. You will have options to add mydsl extensions but right now you are just interested in cheatcodes. Add all the cheatcodes you want to use on your new CD. After that the script will prompt you to enter a blank CD for burning. When it's done you should have a CD will all your boot options included!!

Why don't you try this first to get your feet wet.

Good luck

Chris
Back to top
Profile PM MSN YIM 
tronik Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 182
Joined: Dec. 2004
Posted: April 13 2005,22:09 QUOTE

After you edited lilo did you reinstall the bootloader? Run 'lilo' as root.

--------------
-william
atlanta, GA, USA

DSL 1.0+2.4.27/sata : P4 2.4norwood : 512ddr2 : nvgf4ti4200-64 : 128mbLexar Jumpdrive Elite
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
6 replies since April 13 2005,12:28 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (2) </ [1] 2 >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: Stripping DSL

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code