Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (5) </ 1 2 [3] 4 5 >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: Torsmo< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
marimo Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb. 2006
Posted: Mar. 01 2006,05:46 QUOTE

Quote (hs7sv @ Feb. 16 2006,00:23)
I'm using DSL-2.1b and wmacpi_1.99r7.dsl on my laptop :D

I just added the wmacpi .dsl file and nothing appeared on my desktop. Also no icon appeared. Do I need to manually go into the flux box menu or the .ixinitrc  file to edit it to make it come up at boot in a certain place on the screen? I have had no luck in trying to get 'wavemon' or other things to come up at boot when I have edited this file before. I have used the 'exec' command and the "&" at the end of the line. A tad confusing. Is there a tutorial or FAQ somewhere on this?.

Also, while we're talking icons, I notice that everytime I reboot, my icons disappear. I then have to manually go in and select 'fully enhanced desktop' from the menu.
Suggestions?

And last one: how the hect do i get a bios update for my 1999 computer? Can I do it over the internet? Or do I have to have to send this Inspiron 4000 back to Dell (fat chance that i pony up $$ for that...) Bios was updated in 2001 when my internal harddrive failed and they replaced it.
Any suggestions? I have heard the term 'flashing' a bios ...but I alwasys thougth that was something that could be done by myself...

Thanks.
Marimo


--------------
--Marimo
+++++++++++++++
DSL 2.2 HD Install
Dell Inspiron 4000
5 Gigs of a HD, 128 K of ram, and a lot of luck...
+++++++++++++++
Back to top
Profile PM 
hs7sv Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 247
Joined: June 2005
Posted: Mar. 01 2006,06:53 QUOTE

marimo, Please read this thread. Option: apm=off acpi=force are needed in menu.lst or lilo.conf. I added these commands in /opt/bootlocal.sh
Code Sample
sudo modprobe battery
sudo modprobe button
sudo modprobe fan  
sudo modprobe processor
sudo modprobe thermal
sudo modprobe ac

For dMix problem, please read this thread. I'm using this command in .xinitrc:-
Code Sample
sleep 3; wmswallow -geometry 64x64 docked &

Note:
Quote (hs7sv @ Feb. 18 2006,10:19)
For the better time remaining calculating and 2 batteries support, I replaced wmacpi_1.99r7.dsl with wmbatteries.


--------------
"My advice is to just  return hardware that does not work with a plain Linux kernel, right to the place where you bought it, and ask for your money back..."

Klaus Knopper
Back to top
Profile PM ICQ AOL MSN YIM 
marimo Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb. 2006
Posted: Mar. 04 2006,20:04 QUOTE

Quote (hs7sv @ Feb. 28 2006,22:53)
marimo, Please read this thread. Option: apm=off acpi=force are needed in menu.list or lilo.conf. I added these commands in /opt/bootlocal.sh
Code Sample
sudo modprobe battery
sudo modprobe button
sudo modprobe fan  
sudo modprobe processor
sudo modprobe thermal
sudo modprobe ac

For dMix problem, please read this thread. I'm using this command in .xinitrc:-
Code Sample
sleep 3; wmswallow -geometry 64x64 docked &

Note:
Quote (hs7sv @ Feb. 18 2006,10:19)
For the better time remaining calculating and 2 batteries support, I replaced wmacpi_1.99r7.dsl with wmbatteries.

I am using grub as my loader. Should I be putting the
Option: apm=off acpi=force
somewhere else instead of a Lilo.conf file...for example is there a Grub.conf file? Just looking before I leap on this one. I already added the line of sudo modprobe commands. Also I just looked at the menu.list file--what does that do?

Noobie says thank you...
Marimo


--------------
--Marimo
+++++++++++++++
DSL 2.2 HD Install
Dell Inspiron 4000
5 Gigs of a HD, 128 K of ram, and a lot of luck...
+++++++++++++++
Back to top
Profile PM 
hs7sv Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 247
Joined: June 2005
Posted: Mar. 06 2006,03:34 QUOTE

I am using:-

hda1 - DSL image (100MB)
hda2 - MyDSL, Backup/Restore and Data

Below is a code sample in /mnt/hda1/boot/grub/menu.lst
Code Sample
title DSL fb1024x768
kernel /boot/linux24 root=/dev/hda1 quiet apm=off acpi=force vga=791 noapic noapm dma noscsi frugal mydsl=hda2 restore=hda2
initrd /boot/minirt24.gz  

You can use Emelfm as SuperUser for mounting and edit menu.lst in Beaver. Good luck   :D


--------------
"My advice is to just  return hardware that does not work with a plain Linux kernel, right to the place where you bought it, and ask for your money back..."

Klaus Knopper
Back to top
Profile PM ICQ AOL MSN YIM 
hs7sv Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 247
Joined: June 2005
Posted: Mar. 07 2006,02:38 QUOTE

I searched for torsmo ACPI and found ACPI Battery stats for the command line. It is written in perl script. I tested it on my laptop. It works! :D

This script is a modified version of battstate.pl that I'm using:-
Code Sample
#!/usr/bin/perl
#
# This is somem messy Perl script, but hey,
# it works. If you somehow stuble upon this
# code, then please note that you may have to
# change certain paths, such as BAT0, depending
# on how many batteries you have. Also, note
# that this script has only been tested with
# ACPI and not APM.
#
# Enjoy! :-)
#
# written by ateam (derek@backdrifts.net)
#
# modified for DSL-2.1b by hs7sv (paphons@gmail.com)

chop (@info = `cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state`);
chop (@capacity = `cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/info`);

chop ($left = @info[4]);
chop ($left = `echo \"$left\" | awk '{ print \$3 }'`);

$state = @info[2];
chop ($state = `echo \"$state\" | awk '{ print \$3 }'`);

chop ($full = @capacity[1]);
chop ($full = `echo \"$full\" | awk '{ print \$3 }'`);

$remain = $left / $full * 100;
$remain = int ($remain);

chop (@time = `cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/state`);
chop (@time2 = `cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/info`);

$rcap = @time[4];
chop ($rcap = `echo \"$rcap\" | awk '{ print \$3 }'`);

$prate = @time[3];
chop ($prate = `echo \"$prate\" | awk '{ print \$3 }'`);

if ($prate > 0)
{
  if ($state eq "discharging")
  {
        $seconds = $rcap / $prate * 60 * 60;
  }

  elsif ($state eq "charging")
  {
        $seconds = ($full - $rcap) / $prate * 60 * 60;
  }

   $minutes = sprintf("%.2f", $minutes);

   $hours = $seconds / 60 / 60;
   $hours = sprintf("%.2f", $hours);

   chop ($singhour = $hours);
   chop ($singhour);
   chop ($singhour);

   $hourmins = $hours;

   $hourmins =~ s/^.//;
   $hourmins =~ s/^.//;

   $hourmins = $hourmins * .6;
   $hourmins = sprintf("%.0f", $hourmins);
}
else
{
   $seconds = 0;
}

if ($singhour >= 1)
{
   print " $singhour";
}

if ($hourmins >= 1)
{
   if ($singhour < 1)
   {
       print " 0";
   }

   if ($hourmins < 10)
   {
       print ":0$hourmins";
   }
   else
   {
       print ":$hourmins";
   }
   print " remains"
}
else
{
   print " A:C";
}

print "\n";

if ($state eq "charged")
{
   $printstate = "AC on-line";
}
elsif ($state eq "discharging" and $rcap eq $full)
{
   $printstate = "AC on-line";
}
elsif ($state eq "charging")
{
   $printstate = "AC on-line and charging";
}
elsif ($state eq "discharging")
{
   $printstate = "AC unplugged";
}

print " $remain%, $printstate";

It can be executed in your ~/.torsmorc file quite simply. :D
Code Sample
${color grey}Battery:  $color${exec perl /home/dsl/battstate.pl}


--------------
"My advice is to just  return hardware that does not work with a plain Linux kernel, right to the place where you bought it, and ask for your money back..."

Klaus Knopper
Back to top
Profile PM ICQ AOL MSN YIM 
20 replies since Dec. 26 2005,18:00 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (5) </ 1 2 [3] 4 5 >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: Torsmo

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code