Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
 

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: wmweather+ extension, Setting your map< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
Rapidweather Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 375
Joined: Jan. 2004
Posted: Oct. 23 2004,23:15 QUOTE

I'm starting a new thread for the wmweather+ doc app.
---
Setting the map has been a problem for me, and I finally got it
centered over my city, and in the same size as the original.
Here's the map:
SE USA Doppler Radar
To get one for your area, vidit my maps page and pick one out:
Maps Page
Here is my weather.cfg file, that I keep in /home/dsl
---
Code Sample
station KJAN
location 32.3000N 090.1000W
#radar-uri http://image.weather.com/images/maps/current/curwx_277x187.jpg
radar-uri http://image.weather.com/web/radar/us_se_4regradar_large_usen.jpg
radar-crop 290x210+50+50
radar-cross 50x50


---
The part that appears to control where on the map you are centered is
the "radar-crop" values. I have "290x210" for my area, where KJAN is
located. (Jackson, MS.)
So far, I have gotten the results I need without changing the "+50+50" or the "radar-cross" values.
I get the map in Opera, so I can see the whole thing. You can do that with the one you pick off the web page. Note that you get the entire weather.com page for each one, so you will need to right click on the map and determine the exact url for it to use in your weather.cfg file.
--
Be sure and backup your system, and have this line in your filetool.lst:
---
/home/dsl/weather.cfg
---
When you start the wmweather+ doc app, be sure and give the path to
the config file:
(Put this in your menu, and back up that too:)

Code Sample
[submenu] (Apps) {}
     [submenu] (Dock Apps) {}
        [exec] (Clock Dock App) {/usr/bin/wmclock}
[exec] (Calculator Dock App) {/usr/bin/wmcalc}
        [exec] (Dialup Dock App) {/usr/bin/wmppp}
[exec] (Moonclock Dock App) {/usr/X11R6/bin/wmMoonClock}
[exec] (Pinboard Dock App) {/usr/bin/wmpinboard -w}
[exec] (Weather Doc App - On) {/usr/bin/wmweather+ -c /home/dsl/weather.cfg}
[exec] (Weather Doc App - Off) {killall wmweather+}
     [end]

---
Try different values for "radar-crop" such as "340x290" and see what you get. Write down the results, and go from there to get to where you
have the part of the overall map that you want. Notice that what you get in the wmweather doc app is the same size as the original map, so you can hunt around on the original, and see where your settings have taken you.
---
:D


--------------
Rapidweather Remaster of DSL:
http://www.angelfire.com/ms/telegram/getting_started.html
Rapidweather Remaster of Knoppix Linux:
http://www.geocities.com/rapidweather/getting_started.html
Screenshots:
http://www.rapidweather.com/linuxcdsales.html
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
Rapidweather Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 375
Joined: Jan. 2004
Posted: Oct. 24 2004,03:08 QUOTE

That wmMoonClock menu line in the previous post should read:
(entire Dock Apps section given for clarity:)
Code Sample
[submenu] (Apps) {}
     [submenu] (Dock Apps) {}
        [exec] (Clock Dock App) {/usr/bin/wmclock}
[exec] (Calculator Dock App) {/usr/bin/wmcalc}
        [exec] (Dialup Dock App) {/usr/bin/wmppp}
[exec] (Moonclock Dock App) {/usr/X11R6/bin/wmMoonClock -lat 30.15 -lon 96.4 -bc tan -lc black -dc red}
[exec] (Pinboard Dock App) {/usr/bin/wmpinboard -w}
[exec] (Weather Doc App - On) {/usr/bin/wmweather+ -c /home/dsl/weather.cfg}
[exec] (Weather Doc App - Off) {killall wmweather+}
     [end]

You'll want to put your latitude and longitude in there, and backup your system so you get the menu with your settings for Moonclock, in place of the default one.
---
About the wmWeather Dock app, I'm going to work up some examples
for common USA cities, to center the weather map on those areas.
That way, you can use those settings as a trial in your weather.cfg mentioned in the previous post.
I note that the original image as found on weather.com is 720x486, so the settings probably need to be in that
width to height ratio. My weather.cfg "radar-crop" settings are not as yet.
Code Sample
station KJAN
location 32.3000N 090.1000W
#radar-uri http://image.weather.com/images/maps/current/curwx_277x187.jpg
radar-uri http://image.weather.com/web/radar/us_se_4regradar_large_usen.jpg
radar-crop 290x210+50+50
radar-cross 50x50


Looking closely at the image displayed in wmweather dock app compared to the original, however, I find no problems with this ratio, the maps look identical.
(Although the one in the dock app is of a smaller area)

---
:;):


--------------
Rapidweather Remaster of DSL:
http://www.angelfire.com/ms/telegram/getting_started.html
Rapidweather Remaster of Knoppix Linux:
http://www.geocities.com/rapidweather/getting_started.html
Screenshots:
http://www.rapidweather.com/linuxcdsales.html
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
Rapidweather Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 375
Joined: Jan. 2004
Posted: Oct. 24 2004,03:59 QUOTE

Moving around the map using:
Code Sample
radar-crop 390x170+50+50

First figure (390) higher number to move EAST.
First figure (390) lower number to move WEST.
---
Second figure (170) higher number to move SOUTH.
Second figure (170) lower number to move NORTH.
---
Some examples: (Second Figure, moving the map SOUTH.)
390x50   Cincinatti
390x170   Just West of Atlanta

90x180  Amarillo, TX
190x80   Kansas City
---
These settings are for the weather.com radar map in my weather.cfg:

SE USA weather.com radar map.
---
Note I have not touched the other settings at all:
Code Sample
station KJAN
location 32.3000N 090.1000W
#radar-uri http://image.weather.com/images/maps/current/curwx_277x187.jpg
radar-uri http://image.weather.com/web/radar/us_se_4regradar_large_usen.jpg
radar-crop 390x170+50+50
radar-cross 50x50


I'm not sure what additional benefit changing the other settings would be in this case.
---
Hope all this helps, the new wmweather doc app works well, expecially at 640x480!
---
:laugh:


--------------
Rapidweather Remaster of DSL:
http://www.angelfire.com/ms/telegram/getting_started.html
Rapidweather Remaster of Knoppix Linux:
http://www.geocities.com/rapidweather/getting_started.html
Screenshots:
http://www.rapidweather.com/linuxcdsales.html
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
green Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 453
Joined: Oct. 2004
Posted: Jan. 08 2005,18:37 QUOTE

Thanks to this post, I've been able to get the map looking good.

However, I'm having issues with the location, meaning:

station KJAN
location 32.3000N 090.1000W

Been trying to insert my 'station' and 'location'
It appears that ther is no problem with the coordinates I've put in regarding lattitude and longitude. However, I'm not getting any data from any of the stations I have tried.
I'm probably missing something, but would appreciate some direction on this if anyone has some to give me.
Back to top
Profile PM 
3 replies since Oct. 23 2004,23:15 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

 
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: wmweather+ extension

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code