Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (5) </ 1 2 [3] 4 5 >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: how do i set embedded up??< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
henk1955 Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 249
Joined: June 2004
Posted: Dec. 06 2004,09:08 QUOTE

i have tried the same thing as DImGR and have the same result.
this "problem" has bin since the first dsl-embed.
it appears the files : dsl-linux.sh and qemu do not have the exe-bit set.
i can be solved easy.
add 1 line to dsl-embed.sh
Code Sample
#/bin/bash
chmod 764
exec ./qemu -L . -hda harddisk -cdrom dsl.iso -boot d -m 256 -enable-audio -user-net -localtime

and call it as: sh ./dsl-linux.sh
or
Code Sample
cd /to_the_dir_you_put_dsl-embed
chmod 764 dsl-linux.sh
chmod 764 qemu

then you call it as: dsl-linux.sh

<edit>
i just remebered.
if you extract to a windows(fat) filesystem. ALL mod-bits are set.
if you extract to a linux (ext2) filesystem NOT all m0d-bits are set
so it is posible roberts and DImGR have different results on testing dsl-embeded.
</edit>


--------------
You have a Q or just want to chat?
Come to #damnsmalllinux on irc.freenode.net!
Open 24/7

dell latitude c640 p4@1.6Ghz 256Mb DSL0.9.1-remaster
asus p4p800-vm p4@2.8Ghz HT / celeron@2.4Ghz 512Mb DSL0.9.1-remaster (alsadebs.dsl)
ABit BE6 celeron@466 256Mb DSL0.9.1-remaster (xawtv)
Back to top
Profile PM WEB MSN 
cbagger01 Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4264
Joined: Oct. 2003
Posted: Dec. 06 2004,13:24 QUOTE

My guess is that roberts has installed DSL-embedded on a USB drive (FAT file system) while everyone else is trying to install it to a native EXT2 partition on a hard drive or in the RAMdisk.
Back to top
Profile PM 
DImGR Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: April 2004
Posted: Dec. 06 2004,15:32 QUOTE

Quote (henk1955 @ Dec. 06 2004,04:08)
i have tried the same thing as DImGR and have the same result.
this "problem" has bin since the first dsl-embed.
it appears the files : dsl-linux.sh and qemu do not have the exe-bit set.
i can be solved easy.
add 1 line to dsl-embed.sh
Code Sample
#/bin/bash
chmod 764
exec ./qemu -L . -hda harddisk -cdrom dsl.iso -boot d -m 256 -enable-audio -user-net -localtime

and call it as: sh ./dsl-linux.sh
or
Code Sample
cd /to_the_dir_you_put_dsl-embed
chmod 764 dsl-linux.sh
chmod 764 qemu

then you call it as: dsl-linux.sh

<edit>
i just remebered.
if you extract to a windows(fat) filesystem. ALL mod-bits are set.
if you extract to a linux (ext2) filesystem NOT all m0d-bits are set
so it is posible roberts and DImGR have different results on testing dsl-embeded.
</edit>

this works and starts dsl BUT the keyboard does not function as it should

i press enter and it prints the letter  T   on screen..

and yes i am running it on a ext3
Back to top
Profile PM 
roberts Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4983
Joined: Oct. 2003
Posted: Dec. 06 2004,16:58 QUOTE

Quote
My guess is that roberts has installed DSL-embedded on a USB drive (FAT file system) while everyone else is trying to install it to a native EXT2 partition on a hard drive or in the RAMdisk.


No. Actually, downloaded into /home/dsl the ramdisk. unzip in ramdisk. It is OK.
Second test. download to ext2, unzip into ext2. It is OK.

However, I am using DSL and the unzip program that is in DSL.

Could it be the version of unzip that others are using?

Normally I would not use zip. But lets be real this is primarily for Windows users and that is why I am using zip.

If manually setting the perms is the answer then OK. But I still like to get to the bottom of these kinds of things. Can anyone else verify that running DSL using DSL's unzip works. I know I am exhausted from all the work that when into this release. But honsetly, this morning, I again verified that it works.
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
DImGR Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: April 2004
Posted: Dec. 06 2004,17:14 QUOTE

mine works with unzip on ext3. I followed the instructions 3 posts above this for my problem with the script and it worked with only 1 problem.
the keybord acts crazy.
i press enter it prints T ...
Back to top
Profile PM 
20 replies since Dec. 04 2004,15:33 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (5) </ 1 2 [3] 4 5 >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: how do i set embedded up??

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code