Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (4) </ 1 [2] 3 4 >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: DSL on OS X with qemu< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
dslMike Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: Oct. 2005
Posted: Oct. 25 2005,13:50 QUOTE

dwarf75.  

- Is your networking running?
- I just noticed that I cannot get to the Internet.  Dillo shows dns error.
- NE2000 qemu ethernet interface was detected (lsmod shows ne2K module is loaded)
- ifconfig shows only loopback and not eth0
- leads me to believe qemu environment is not providing firewall/dns
- we might need additional QemuX things that my instructions didn't move
- QemuX running same DSL version does get to Internet
- I tried an explicit "-user-net" qemu option in dsl-mac.sh but made no difference
- I will experiment a little further and report back.

dslMike
Back to top
Profile PM 
dslMike Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: Oct. 2005
Posted: Oct. 25 2005,22:19 QUOTE

All.

I just isolated the other QemuX file needed to get networking working (bios.bin), which seems to be dependent on the version of qemu being used.  Therefore, the installation script for OS X should be the following (assuming that QemuX is already installed on the mac and your usb volume is "Untitled"):

#move to root of usb volume
cd /Volumes/Untitled/

#make new directory for mac qemu executables
mkdir qemu_mac

#copy mac qemu required files
cp /Applications/Qemu/qemu qemu_mac/
cp /Applications/Qemu/share/qemu/bios.bin qemu_mac/
cp /Applications/Qemu/share/qemu/linux_boot.bin qemu_mac/
cp /Applications/Qemu/share/qemu/vgabios-cirrus.bin qemu_mac/

#QemuX executable expects to find keymaps in directory under -L option location
mkdir qemu_mac/keymaps

#copy keymap files from QemuX
cp /Applications/Qemu/share/qemu/keymaps/* qemu_mac/keymaps/

#copy the dsl-linux.sh while changing the qemu directory in two places
cat dsl-linux.sh | sed s#qemu/#qemu_mac/# | sed s#qemu/#qemu_mac/# >dsl-mac.sh

Now, you should be able to insert your usb key, opening a terminal window and enter:

cd /Volumes/Untitled/
./dsl-mac.sh &

dslMike.
Back to top
Profile PM 
dwarf75 Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: Oct. 2005
Posted: Oct. 25 2005,23:24 QUOTE

Hi dslMike,
thanks for your effort. As I am a newbe to Linux, I have got no clue and everything I do is by trial and error.
Three thinks I found/ managed to get done though:
1.)When I tried to copy the keymaps onto the USB stick, termaninal threw a hissy-fit and I just used the normal Finder window to do it.
2.) I'm not sure how the line below does what this does, but I think there is a little error in there:
Quote (dslMike @ Oct. 25 2005,18:19)
#copy the dsl-linux.sh while changing the qemu directory in two places
cat dsl-linux.sh | sed s#qemu/#qemu_mac/# | sed s#qemu/#qemu_mac/# >dsl-mac.sh

When I try to run the shell script, it tells me that there is no qemu file or directory in /qemu_mac.
Hence I had to edit the shell by hand and replace  qemu qith qemu_mac in the first line.
All running now.

3.)Wrote an applescript to run DSL on OS X. Only get to run it on Terminal not X11: (I renamed my memory stick "DSL")
Just put this in script editor:
Code Sample
tell application "Terminal"
do script "cd /Volumes/DSL; ./dsl-mac.sh &"
end tell

It worked fine last night, however for some reason it opens two terminal windows today. Minor hickup.

In addition:
1.)Any idea on how to resize the Dsl window?

2.) For some reason, your changes have another effect: When in the DSL window, the CPU does not run 100% all the tiem anymore, like it did before.

I've also added another screenshot:


and the apple script can be found here:
DSLonOSX Applescript

Cheers
Mike

P.S. John, let me know if you want a larger screenshot.
Back to top
Profile PM 
dslMike Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: Oct. 2005
Posted: Oct. 25 2005,23:47 QUOTE

dwarf75.

Quote
I'm not sure how the line below does what this does, but I think there is a little error in there:
Code Sample
cat dsl-linux.sh | sed s#qemu/#qemu_mac/# | sed s#qemu/#qemu_mac/# >dsl-mac.sh


This line copies the dsl-linux.sh line and runs it through a Stream EDitor twice.  Each time is substitutes the first occurance of qemu for qemu_mac on every line.  

Quote
1.)Any idea on how to resize the Dsl window?


In the DSL window right click to menu -> System -> XVesa which pops up a panel to select the screen size and colour depth you want.  Once you select, qemu automatically resizes the window.  Your changes will also be saved in your preferences during the backup during shutdown and should be restored on the next boot.

Quote
2.) For some reason, your changes have another effect: When in the DSL window, the CPU does not run 100% all the tiem anymore, like it did before.


I think you'll find if you leave DSL settle, its CPU will register very low (1-5%) while the mac will be working a bit harder (30-50%), but when you try to do something in DSL, both will tend to go high.  I personally find working on a 41MHz virtual PC a little trying.  Don't know if its worth the pain for the pleasure of portable computing environment.

Thanks for the applescript.  

dslMike.
Back to top
Profile PM 
roberts Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4983
Joined: Oct. 2003
Posted: Oct. 25 2005,23:54 QUOTE

Hey Guys,

This is great news. I know nuttin about Mac. Is your apple script generic enough to be included in our 5-way which would mean we would have a 6-way script? Or at least 6 ways packed together with instructions for anyone to download. Let me know, as I will update the download 5-way.tgz

Robert
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
15 replies since Oct. 04 2005,11:44 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (4) </ 1 [2] 3 4 >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: DSL on OS X with qemu

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code