Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: cable modem help, i got a prob< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
hellbenthacker Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: Oct. 2003
Posted: Oct. 01 2003,01:30 QUOTE

ok here it is. i have a cox cable modem, and i want to run damnshell linux on an older computer with 3 nic's (1 for cable modem, 2 for desktop 3 for laptop and others.) i wanna know how do i install the cable modem via ethernet? where do i get the drivers to install the cable modem, and if i lost all my info on how my cable modem connects to my internet service (not shure what it is) where do i get it or if possible is there software i can use to get it? any help would be appriciated (excuse the spelling)  ???
Back to top
Profile PM 
satoshi Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: Sep. 2003
Posted: Oct. 02 2003,20:57 QUOTE

Damnshell Linux?  ??? lol I know whatcha mean though.

DSL recognized my cable modem as soon as it booted up.  There should be no installing ever.  Not even in Windows, well, you may have to tell Windows that you have an ethernet card, but it should see that automatically.  Just plug it into the ethernet card and away you go.

Well, if you've got a Cox cable modem, then I'm pretty sure that Cox would be your ISP, you could call them up or e-mail them, but you really don't need any of that info to go online or anything.

So.. I really dunno what you're looking for..  There are no drivers, per se, for a cable modem.  Only drivers for the ethernet card.  And DSL should recognize most ethernet cards.
Back to top

Posted: Oct. 13 2003,20:10 QUOTE

I have a cable modem using PPPoE protocol (like ADSL) and therefore needs configuration. It works very well with DSL, using pppoeconf  :)
But most cable connexions use only DHCP, nothing to do, it works out of the box !

Back to top
Dakrone Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: Sep. 2003
Posted: Oct. 13 2003,23:09 QUOTE

do a "dmesg | grep eth[0-9]" and see if it displays all of your nics as Link is up, a cable modem should be no problem for DSL, the only thing that would keep it from working would be if your nic wasn't supported

join us on IRC! #DangSmallLinux at FreeNode (
(NOTE: replace "Dang" with the correct word ^_^ )
Back to top
Profile PM WEB AOL 
3 replies since Oct. 01 2003,01:30 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: cable modem help

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code