Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (3) </ 1 [2] 3 >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: Notes on Frugal Install with Grub and working myDS< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
QBRADQ
Unregistered






Posted: Oct. 14 2005,14:29 QUOTE

Wow, wish I would have seen this post yesterday :P

I just got my frugal HD install working today, and my main hang up was GRUB. Here's the problem I faced:

The GRUB device map was getting all out of wack. On my system, my ATA 133 card gets assigned hda - hdd, and my on-board IDEs get hde - hdh. However, in BIOS (and in GRUB), the on-board IDEs are (hd0) - (hd3) and the ATA 133 card is (hd4) - (hd7).

When the frugal install script called GRUB to build the device map, this is what it came up with (NOTE: the comments are mine, not GRUB's, and do not appear in the actual device.map):
Code Sample

(hd0) /dev/hda # This is my large disk on ATA0-M (NTFS)
(hd1) /dev/hdb # Does not exist!
(hd2) /dev/hdc # Does not exist!
(hd3) /dev/hdd # Does not exits!
(hd4) /dev/hde # Linux System Disk (ext2, ext3, and 0x82)
(hd5) /dev/hdf # Windows Application Disk (NTFS)


When installed like this, booting GRUB results in:
Code Sample

GRUB
Hard Disk Error


Oddly enough, a manual GRUB install from a GRUB boot CD (those 500k wounders :P) using the same device.map results in "GRUB " being printed out to the BIOS console about a billion times.

The Fix:

New /boot/grub/device.map (root mounted at /mnt/hde1):
Code Sample

(hd0) /dev/hde
(hd1) /dev/hdf
(hd2) /dev/hdg
(hd5) /dev/hda


Note that only (hd0) is really needed to boot, but I have many other operatting systems installed and use GRUB to boot them either directly or indirectly.

Now, after re-writting /boot/grub/device.map, I had to re-install GRUB. I tried using the command "grub-install '(hd0)'" (NOTE that grub-install requires single quotes around device names, which isn't documented in the --help command). However, when using that command, I get an error saying something like "/dev/cloop has no BIOS device name!".

So, in order to re-install GRUB I had to use the GRUB shell, with a few tweaks. Here's a falsy console dump of the process (I.E., I'm writting it by hand from memory, milage may vary):
Code Sample

// This tells GRUB to use this particular device.map instead of making a new one
> sudo grub --device-map=/mnt/hde1/boot/grub/device.map
// And this tells GRUB to use /dev/hde1 as the root
// This is because (hd0) in our device map points at /dev/hde
> GRUB> root (hd0,0)
// And again, this installs GRUB to the MBR of /dev/hde
> GRUB> setup (hd0)
// This is just a place holder for all the info GRUB spits out after setup
> GRUB> BUNCH OF GRUB STUFF
// Quit GRUB
> GRUB> quit
// Reboot and pray :P


So, now we've got GRUB set up right! We can boot now, right? Well, if you're DSL Frugal experiance has been anything like mine, then no. The file /boot/grub/menu.lst that the frugal install script installs is missing a very important line from it's entries, the root command!

I'm at the office right now, so I don't have access to my menu.lst, so I'll be using one of the entries submitted further up as the example.

Code Sample

// menu.lst entry generated by DSL Frugal Install Script
// Note the absence of the root command
// This causes a kernel panic (for me at least)
title DSL-frugal-base-norestore (hdb1)
kernel /boot/isolinux/linux24 root=/dev/hdb1 base norestore
initrd /boot/isolinux/minirt24.gz

// Corrected menu.lst entry
// This boots fine
title DSL-frugal-base-norestore (hdb1)
root (hd1,0) // ADDED
kernel /boot/isolinux/linux24 root=/dev/hdb1 base norestore
initrd /boot/isolinux/minirt24.gz


Well, I hope all this helps someone out there. It's been a frustrating couple days having to use a GRUB boot CD to load Windows from a secondary disk through the GRUB shell. But hey, that's what it's there for, eh? map() roxor :D

What about the Twinky?
QBRADQ
Back to top
robh Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: Oct. 2005
Posted: Oct. 21 2005,03:26 QUOTE

hey larkl

great post about the frugal install, which i am trying to follow. sorry to post such a noob question but, i'm having trouble with altering the /boot/grub/menu.lst file.

i did the command

>nano /mnt/hda1/boot/grub/menu.lst  

and got a bash terminal with the above file highlighted in it but i cannot seem to see the file. i tried the ctrlR to read and ctrlO to write out the file but can't see the file contents anywhere. how do i edit this file (utter noob instructions would help).


--------------
Presario 1240
Pentium 266Mhz
96MB RAM
~3.2GB HD
full HD install of dsl 3.2
Back to top
Profile PM 
iakudi Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: Oct. 2005
Posted: Oct. 21 2005,04:29 QUOTE

This set up worked great for e too, especialy after all tge posts and countless re-installs !!

There is just 1 question, my /tmp file is still linked to /hda1 and so when I try to install something it runs out space and cannot download it or if it downloads it cannot install it.....

I just want to install Opera and another editor such as Gedit or Kwrite - something very "notepaddy" other than beaver (any recommendations?)
Back to top
Profile PM 
AwPhuch Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 1404
Joined: April 2004
Posted: Oct. 21 2005,15:49 QUOTE

Quote (iakudi @ Oct. 21 2005,00:29)
This set up worked great for e too, especialy after all tge posts and countless re-installs !!

There is just 1 question, my /tmp file is still linked to /hda1 and so when I try to install something it runs out space and cannot download it or if it downloads it cannot install it.....

I just want to install Opera and another editor such as Gedit or Kwrite - something very "notepaddy" other than beaver (any recommendations?)

Change your download directory...if you are using persistand /home and /opt directories then aim it at /home/dsl/tmp (well create the temp dir first)

Brian
AwPhuch


--------------
http://www.frappr.com/dsl <-- Where do you use DSL?
http://www.smoothwall.org <-- Ultimate firewall for the world!
http://boinc.mundayweb.com/one/stats.php/userID:6107 <--My BOINC stats!
./S99LinuxRevolution start
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
AwPhuch Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 1404
Joined: April 2004
Posted: Oct. 21 2005,15:51 QUOTE

Quote (robh @ Oct. 20 2005,23:26)
hey larkl

great post about the frugal install, which i am trying to follow. sorry to post such a noob question but, i'm having trouble with altering the /boot/grub/menu.lst file.

i did the command

>nano /mnt/hda1/boot/grub/menu.lst  

and got a bash terminal with the above file highlighted in it but i cannot seem to see the file. i tried the ctrlR to read and ctrlO to write out the file but can't see the file contents anywhere. how do i edit this file (utter noob instructions would help).

You have to mount the "bootable" partition b4 editing...

If yours is /hda1 then mount it 1st..then edit..once its edited then you are good to go

Brian
AwPhuch


--------------
http://www.frappr.com/dsl <-- Where do you use DSL?
http://www.smoothwall.org <-- Ultimate firewall for the world!
http://boinc.mundayweb.com/one/stats.php/userID:6107 <--My BOINC stats!
./S99LinuxRevolution start
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
14 replies since Sep. 19 2005,14:31 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (3) </ 1 [2] 3 >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: Notes on Frugal Install with Grub and working myDS

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code