Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (4) </ 1 [2] 3 4 >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: Joe's Window Manager, configuring and using JWM< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
SaidinUnleashed Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 1428
Joined: Mar. 2004
Posted: Nov. 13 2005,04:36 QUOTE

Look at what I have in the twm extension. It's pretty simple to do.

They say if you play a Microsoft CD backwards, you hear satanic messages. That's nothing, cause if you play it forwards, it installs Windows.

Unleash the power of the TILDE~~~
Back to top
roberts Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 4983
Joined: Oct. 2003
Posted: Nov. 13 2005,18:37 QUOTE

If you want to have a root window pop menu, then simply remove the onroot="false" from the Root Menu tag of the .jwmrc file.

I anchored it so that it would not conflict with clicking on the icons.

Also, when editing the rc file .jwmrc then you can "test" it by running the command jwm -p
This will show errors before you restart the window manager!
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
jwm advocate Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: Nov. 2005
Posted: Nov. 14 2005,22:40 QUOTE

you can split the main jwmrc file into several parts/files in a way to seperate the menu from the settings and other sections.  this is a good way to get organized.
in the .jwmrc you can just use the include tag to combine all the files into a usable file for JWM.

example i have a folder in $HOME called .jwm/themes and .jwm/config/
in .jwm/config/ i have all the different parts of the original jwmrc.

-------------- for JWM Themes | Find me on Freenode #jwm or #unixcorps
Back to top
matrulesok Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: June 2005
Posted: Nov. 27 2005,14:51 QUOTE

Is there any way of incoporating the fluxbox wm apps into jwm?? i would really like to be able to see net traffic and the cpu load box is too slow. I had a look around and tried using "swallow", but i failed to get it to work, other than this, jwm is cool!

p.s. I cant see any help in the config section of the jwm site for the "load" tag - am i missing somthing??

Thanks for any help!
Back to top
Profile PM 
mikshaw Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 4856
Joined: July 2004
Posted: Nov. 27 2005,15:04 QUOTE

JWM doesn't have a slit or dock, so they will open in their own windows.  You will also need to change the commandline parameters of some of them in order to have them load properly, remove "-withdrawn" from the wmnet command for example.  I can't remember fully what changes need to be done, but i'd suggest running each application from a terminal while testing.  You can find the commands listed in .xinitrc.

Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
19 replies since Nov. 11 2005,20:54 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (4) </ 1 [2] 3 4 >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: Joe's Window Manager

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code