Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (6) </ 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: More questions regarding compiling extensions, Yeah baby, you want it< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
b1ackmai1er Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 115
Joined: June 2005
Posted: Sep. 09 2007,06:07 QUOTE

BTW, whats the difference between EPREFIX and PREFIX?

cheers Phil
Back to top
Profile PM 
b1ackmai1er Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 115
Joined: June 2005
Posted: Sep. 09 2007,06:58 QUOTE

Arrggghh, I think I have this figure out

When I compile my libraries I have to tell them where the library is.

i.e ./configure --prefix=/opt/gnuplot --libdir=/opt/gnuplot

Suddenly, my program works.

When I run LDD -v gnuplot to confirm the library path it displays:

libgd.so.2 => /opt/gnuplot/lib/libgd.so.2 (0x4008b000)

so it seems to be resolved.

However just looking in /usr/lib I found libgd.so.1 so maybe the library was there all along and I didn't need to compile it.

Arrrggghhh.

regards Phil
Back to top
Profile PM 
Juanito Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 1601
Joined: Sep. 2005
Posted: Sep. 09 2007,07:43 QUOTE

Quote
BTW, whats the difference between EPREFIX and PREFIX?

This is so you can put the executable files in one place (eg /opt/app/bin) and other files in another place (eg /etc/app) - the readme, install or "./configure --help" will give a better explanation.

Quote
i.e ./configure --prefix=/opt/gnuplot --libdir=/opt/gnuplot

It might be better to use --prefix=/opt/gnuplot-1.2 or similar to avoid a clash when you submit an updated extension  :)
Back to top
Profile PM 
b1ackmai1er Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 115
Joined: June 2005
Posted: Sep. 09 2007,12:19 QUOTE

Thanks for the explanation.

It seems I still have not resolved this. It seems it worked because I had previously set the environement variable for the path.

Back to the drawing board.
Back to top
Profile PM 
lucky13 Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 1478
Joined: Feb. 2007
Posted: Sep. 09 2007,14:47 QUOTE

I've held back from posting because I'm not sure I understand what you're doing. The part where it appears you're redundantly adding --libdir to an identical --prefix makes me wonder if you understand what you're trying to do, too.

With the --prefix, you're already telling it to put its bin and lib and share and so on directories in /opt/gnuplot (so its lib will already be /opt/gnuplot/lib unless you tell it otherwise). If you're using those options for gnuplot that's telling it where to place its OWN libs if it has any, not your system libs (it should link to them automatically or you can force linking to them -- but you *won't* use --libdir to link to things already in the system). There's no need to duplicate what's in the system; you can link them with either --include-lib=path or --with-lib=path (read the documentation including ./configure --help) if they're not properly linked in your Makefile. If you're using those options for a non-system lib, just use the normal prefix without a --libdir (because it's going to put the lib in $prefix/lib).

I looked at gnuplot's faq yesterday and it says it's a standard ./configure; make; make install and I didn't see any quirky lib requirements listed. Paste in the line(s) you're using when you run configure for whichever libs (?) and gnuplot.


--------------
"It felt kind of like having a pitbull terrier on my rear end."
-- meo (copyright(c)2008, all rights reserved)
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
28 replies since Sep. 07 2007,16:00 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (6) </ 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: More questions regarding compiling extensions

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code