Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (3) </ [1] 2 3 >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: Convert Multi-user installation to Single-user< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
PastorEd Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: Jan. 2006
Posted: Jan. 20 2006,20:15 QUOTE

Hello, everyone!

I have used DSL as the base install for my daughters' computers. Unfortunately, when I did the install, I set them up to be "multi-user" logins... and I now realize that I ONLY want them to boot up directly into X as the DSL user.

How do I convert a multi-user HD installation into a single-user installation that boots directly into X?

Thanks for any help you can provide.


--------------
GBYLBT... PastorEd
[img]http://mywebpages.comcast.net/pastored/edface1.png[/img]
Registered Linux user #316504

(God Bless Your Linux Box Today)
Back to top
Profile PM 
mikshaw Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4856
Joined: July 2004
Posted: Jan. 20 2006,21:20 QUOTE

I can only say what is in a liveCD/frugal system, but this info can probably be used to at least give you a clue where to look.

There are two versions of /etc/inittab, one for a default liveCD/frugal/embedded system, and one for multiuser.  In my system, the multiuser file (which is not used) is named /etc/inittab.multi.  I assume this is /etc/inittab in your system.  In case the single-user inittab is no longer on your system, this is it:
Code Sample
# /etc/inittab: init(8) configuration.

id:5:initdefault:

si::sysinit:/etc/init.d/rcS

~~:S:respawn:/bin/bash -login >/dev/tty1 2>&1 </dev/tty1


l0:0:wait:/etc/init.d/knoppix-halt
l1:1:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 1
l2:2:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 2
l3:3:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 3
l4:4:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 4
l5:5:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 5
l6:6:wait:/etc/init.d/knoppix-reboot

ca::ctrlaltdel:/etc/init 0

kb::kbrequest:/bin/echo "Keyboard Request -- edit /etc/inittab to let this work."

pf::powerwait:/etc/init.d/powerfail start
pn::powerfailnow:/etc/init.d/powerfail now
po::powerokwait:/etc/init.d/powerfail stop

1:12345:respawn:/bin/bash -login >/dev/tty1 2>&1 </dev/tty1
2:234:respawn:/bin/bash -login >/dev/tty2 2>&1 </dev/tty2
3:234:respawn:/bin/bash -login >/dev/tty3 2>&1 </dev/tty3
4:234:respawn:/bin/bash -login >/dev/tty4 2>&1 </dev/tty4


You might also need to change /.bash_profile (NOT /home/dsl/.bash_profile) to log in dsl automatically:
Code Sample
#!/bin/bash
RUNLEVEL=`runlevel|cut -f2 -d' '`
if [ $RUNLEVEL -eq 5 ]; then
  if egrep -q _install_ /proc/cmdline 2>/dev/null; then
     cd /var/tmp
     dslinstall
  else
     export HOME=/home/dsl
     cd $HOME
     while [ 1 ]; do
        su - dsl
     done
  fi
fi


and edit /home/dsl/.bash_profile to automaticially send you into X:
Code Sample
#!/bin/bash
export IRCNICK=DSL
SSH=`env | grep SSH_CONNECTION`
RUNLEVEL=`runlevel|cut -f2 -d' '`
if [ -z "$SSH" ]; then
  if [ $RUNLEVEL -eq 5 ]; then
      startx
  fi
fi


I can't guarantee that this is all that is necessary, but i can't think of anything else.


--------------
http://www.tldp.org/LDP/intro-linux/html/index.html
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
1nt3rfe4r Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: Jan. 2006
Posted: Jan. 26 2006,00:39 QUOTE

I'm having the same difficulties as PastorEd, and I was wondering if this problem had been solved yet....

I also installed the multi-user DSL on my harddrive, and I got everything set up just the way i want it (webserver, ftp, ssh, VNC, edna etc), except for this one thing!

I tried rewriting the /etc/inittab, the .bash_profile at the system root and the .bash_profile in the user dir as stated above... but still i get prompted for username/pass at boot ???

I have to add to this that I've only been using 'linux' for about 4 days now (and im not english), so please don't get all technical on me :laugh:
Back to top
Profile PM 
mikshaw Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4856
Joined: July 2004
Posted: Jan. 26 2006,02:58 QUOTE

I've never tried this, but i think you can use "passwd -d" to delete your password.

--------------
http://www.tldp.org/LDP/intro-linux/html/index.html
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
1nt3rfe4r Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: Jan. 2006
Posted: Jan. 26 2006,10:54 QUOTE

Quote (mikshaw @ Jan. 25 2006,21:58)
I've never tried this, but i think you can use "passwd -d" to delete your password.

Well, at least half of my problem is gone now (I only get prompted for username)! Thats a start!

Now all I have to do is find some kind of way for the system to enter those 3 letters at boot (no more need for storing any password). Is there any way to do something like that without going through all the troubles of installing a new graphical GNOME like login.. erm.. thing (if thats even possible on DSL that is)?

One funny thing to however is that after deleting the pass on an account (like I did on my dsl account) it's not possible anymore to switch to that user from another non-root account..... after typing 'su dsl' you for some reason DO get prompted for a password (the non-existing one) and no matter what you fill in there (be it nothing, the old password or the root password) you will get one big 'su: Authentication failure, sorry' error. I can still get back on the dsl account by first switching to the root account, and after that switching to the dsl account (and then needing no password of course)....... that's a bit odd right?

By the way, isnt there an easy way to backup the entire system setup to another pc or CD or whatever so I can try to do a single-user HDD setup to see how that accomplishes the automated login?
Back to top
Profile PM 
10 replies since Jan. 20 2006,20:15 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (3) </ [1] 2 3 >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: Convert Multi-user installation to Single-user

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code