Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (2) </ 1 [2] >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: Adding DSL to Linux computer, Is there a howto?< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
jimihieu Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: Mar. 2006
Posted: May 20 2006,08:45 QUOTE

Quote (mikshaw @ May 17 2006,16:40)
From Suse, as root....
1) Mount the ISO
Code Sample
mount -o loop /path/to/dsl-2.4.iso /path/to/mountpoint

2) Copy the contents of the mountpoint to your new ext2 or ext3 partition
Code Sample
cp -Rp /path/to/mountpoint/* /mnt/whatever/

3) Add entry to Suse's /boot/grub/menu.lst
(this example assumes DSL is on hdb1)
Code Sample
title Damn Small Linux
   kernel (hd1,0)/boot/isolinux/linux24 root=/dev/hdb1 dsl <options>
   initrd (hd1,0)/boot/isolinux/minirt24.gz

Hi mikshaw,
i did like that you mention and i got the following error:

The boot lines go a few lines as normal before the error occur:
Uncompress linux.....Ok! Booting the kernel
.....
audit ...initialization....
RAMDISK incomplete write (-28 !=32768) 4194304
Kernel panic: not syncing . No init found: Please put some init = option into the kernel.

At first my grub was like this:
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/isolinux/linux root =/dev/hda1 frugal

When see the error i add in boot line:
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/isolinux/linux root =/dev/hda1 init=/etc/init frugal

Still dont works!
give it 1 more try:
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/isolinux/linux root =/dev/hda1 init=/sbin/init frugal

still dont works!
another try:
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/isolinux/linux root =/dev/hda1 init=/sbin/init frugal
initrd (hd0,0)/boot/isolinux/minirt.gz
(N.B: please note that all the "linux" and "minitrt.gz" are correct name according to my files names and all file structures are the same)
STILL DONT WORK!

Please give me some hints on how to fix
thanx
Back to top
Profile PM 
dtf Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 196
Joined: Nov. 2005
Posted: May 20 2006,12:30 QUOTE

jimihieu -

This is what I came up with after several attempts that seems to work.  Of course much of this is my personal settings.  

title dsl-linux
   root (hd2,0)
   kernel /boot/isolinux/linux24 root=/dev/hdc1 vga=0x31a restore=hdc3 mydsl=hdc3 home=hdc3 opt=hdc3 alsa lpr frugal
   initrd /boot/isolinux/minirt24.gz

I am not sure why you are using hd0,0.  That is pointing to your master drive ide1 first partition.  Is this where you loaded dsl?  In my case I loaded dsl on hd3,0 (master drive on ide2) first partition.  But mikshaw knows this better than I do so you might want to see what he has to say.
Back to top
Profile PM 
mikshaw Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4856
Joined: July 2004
Posted: May 20 2006,13:40 QUOTE

jimihieu: Look at your kernel line, specifically "root =/dev/hda1".  There is a space after "root" which should not be there.

--------------
http://www.tldp.org/LDP/intro-linux/html/index.html
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
torp Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: July 2005
Posted: May 23 2006,13:34 QUOTE

Quote
jimihieu: Look at your kernel line, specifically "root =/dev/hda1".  There is a space after "root" which should not be there.
reminds me of typing in BASIC code for hours and hours on the old C=64, then attempting to save on the cassette drive, only to get an error. what joy....

torp


--------------
-|||-----|||-
Back to top
Profile PM 
jimihieu Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: Mar. 2006
Posted: June 02 2006,04:22 QUOTE

Quote (mikshaw @ May 20 2006,09:40)
jimihieu: Look at your kernel line, specifically "root =/dev/hda1".  There is a space after "root" which should not be there.

hi guys
thanx for the help!
i fixed it by using this "5 fromhd=/dev/hda1 "
but another problem is came up as below:

VFS: Cannot open root device "<NULL>" or unknow-block (3,1)

any idea this time please?
Back to top
Profile PM 
9 replies since May 17 2006,17:41 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (2) </ 1 [2] >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: Adding DSL to Linux computer

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code