Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
 

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: DSL changes IP when DHCP server is down., DSL changes IP when DHCP server is down.< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
magicpio Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: Sep. 2004
Posted: Dec. 15 2005,21:12 QUOTE

Hi!
My DSL 1.5 box is changing its ip address (previously supplied by a dhcp server) when this server is down.
ifconfig will then show 0.0.0.0 on eth0.

Is there any solution to
- assign a default ip in case
1) there was no dhcp server running during bootup of DSL
2) the server goes down, but DSL box still runs
- DSL trying to renew the lease every x minutes if 1) or 2) applies, so when server is up again, DSL gets a new ip via dhcp?

I tried messing with dhcpd.conf but cannot get my head properly around the options.

Thanks for help.
magicpio
Back to top
Profile PM 
cbagger01 Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4264
Joined: Oct. 2003
Posted: Dec. 17 2005,03:51 QUOTE

DSL uses "pump" for the DHCP client.

Lease renewals SHOULD work correctly, but for some reason is not in your case.

Maybe try a static IP address as a workaround?
Back to top
Profile PM 
larkl Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 177
Joined: Sep. 2005
Posted: Dec. 17 2005,13:12 QUOTE

Dhcpd.conf is for configuring the dhcp server, not the client.  You could add a few lines to your bootlocal.sh file that could handle it.  Say your normal IP address range from the dhcp server is 192.168.1.X and that 192.168.1.254 is outside of the range used by the dhcp server and that eth0 is the interface, then

Code Sample
if ifconfig|grep 192.168.1
then exit
else
ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.254
fi


So, if ifconfig contains the IP range you stop, otherwise you set a manual IP.   Might not have the commands just right, but you get the drift.  After all this, might be easier to just use a static address (as cbagger01 suggests).
Back to top
Profile PM 
2 replies since Dec. 15 2005,21:12 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

 
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: DSL changes IP when DHCP server is down.

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code