Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (2) </ [1] 2 >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: can't ping gateway< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
lhoffmeyer Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb. 2006
Posted: Feb. 08 2006,23:06 QUOTE

Hey all,

Using embedded DSL in a WinXP host.  

I have static IP's.  
I am using a seperate static IP for DSL than for my Winxp.
I use netconfig to configure ETH0 but cannot connect to
internet.

I can ping 217.0.0.1
I can ping the static IP address
I cannot ping the gateway.

Any suggestions?

Lance
Back to top
Profile PM 
cbagger01 Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4264
Joined: Oct. 2003
Posted: Feb. 09 2006,04:25 QUOTE

Visit the QEMU web site help forums and learn more about how QEMU handles a simulated network connection between the virtual PC and the host computer's networking system.
Back to top
Profile PM 
lhoffmeyer Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb. 2006
Posted: Feb. 09 2006,15:26 QUOTE

So,

I will need to "Bridge" the network since I am using embedded DSL in WinXP and
the network is static instead of DHCP?

If I were booting directly into DSL, no embedding, then the network card configuration would work?

If when using embedded DSL and the network is DHCP instead of static then
networking will work without bridging?

Lance
Back to top
Profile PM 
lhoffmeyer Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb. 2006
Posted: Feb. 09 2006,18:09 QUOTE

So, I am attempting to bridge the network which I assume will allow me to
obtain internet access.

I setup the network parameters in /opt/bootlocal.sh
that I originally thought would work and didn't (IP address, Gateway ...)

then, I created the bridge script I found the QEMU forums but have now
realized that there is no ifrename in the DSL packages so this script will
not work.  Any suggestions/modifications to this that I can try?

Lance



#!/bin/sh

###############################################################################
#
# Setup a network bridge instead of the main network interface.
# This bridge can then be used to connect further (virtual) interfaces to the LAN, eg. Qemu's tap devices.
# Starting the bridge leads to ca. 5 seconds of "network unreachable".

# Network interface that shall be replaced by a bridge.
HOSTIF=eth0

#
###############################################################################


# Names used during bridge construction.
BRIF=br0
NEWHOSTIF=$BRIF$HOSTIF

# Check for root permissions
if [ `id -u` -gt 0 ]; then
   echo "Need root permissions to run."
   exit 1
fi

# Check for necessary tools
IFCONFIG=`which ifconfig`
IFRENAME=`which ifrename`
BRCTL=`which brctl`
IFUP=`which ifup`
IFDOWN=`which ifdown`

if [ -z $IFCONFIG ]; then
   echo "ifconfig not found (make sure this machine has networking, and ifconfig is in the path)"
   exit 127
fi

if [ -z $IFRENAME ]; then
   echo "ifrename not found (is package ifrename installed?)"
   exit 127
fi

if [ -z $BRCTL ]; then
   echo "brctl not found (is package bridge-utils installed?)"
   exit 127
fi

if [ -z $IFUP -o -z $IFDOWN ]; then
    echo "ifup/ifdown not found (is this not a Debian distro?)"
   exit 127
fi


# Main functionality
case "$1" in
   start)
       echo "Creating bridge $BRIF with $HOSTIF"

       # Deactivate current network setup
       $IFDOWN $HOSTIF
       $IFCONFIG $HOSTIF 0.0.0.0 down

       # Rename host interface
       $IFRENAME -i $HOSTIF -n $NEWHOSTIF

       # Create bridge
       $BRCTL addbr $HOSTIF
       $BRCTL stp $HOSTIF off
       $BRCTL setfd $HOSTIF 1
       $BRCTL addif $HOSTIF $NEWHOSTIF
       $BRCTL show

       # Activate bridge interfaces
       $IFCONFIG $HOSTIF up
       $IFCONFIG $NEWHOSTIF up

       # Configure new bridge to match old config
       echo "Configuring bridge $BRIF"
       $IFUP $HOSTIF
       ;;

   stop)
       echo "Removing bridge $BRIF which contains $NEWHOSTIF"

       # Deactivate interfaces
       $IFDOWN $HOSTIF
       $IFCONFIG $NEWHOSTIF down
       $IFCONFIG $HOSTIF down

       # Remove bridge
       $BRCTL delif $HOSTIF $NEWHOSTIF
       $BRCTL delbr $HOSTIF

       # Rename bridged interface to old name
       $IFRENAME -i $NEWHOSTIF -n $HOSTIF

       # Activate old network setup
       $IFCONFIG $HOSTIF up

       # Reconfigure network to match original network setup
       $IFUP $HOSTIF
       ;;

   status)
       $BRCTL show
       ;;

   *)
       echo "Usage: $0 [start|stop|status]"
       ;;
esac

exit 0
Back to top
Profile PM 
cbagger01 Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4264
Joined: Oct. 2003
Posted: Feb. 09 2006,18:13 QUOTE

When you boot directly into DSL, you can boot with the "nodhcp" command, IE:

dsl nodhcp

and then use the netcardconfig tool to set up your static ip address.  You can then use the /opt/bootlocal.sh script and the backup/restore process to save your network settings for your next reboot.

For embedded DSL, it is harder.  The QEMU folks have a better grip on the issues.
Back to top
Profile PM 
5 replies since Feb. 08 2006,23:06 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (2) </ [1] 2 >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: can't ping gateway

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code