Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (4) </ 1 2 [3] 4 >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: DSL and KVPNC< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
clach04 Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: July 2007
Posted: July 24 2007,01:16 QUOTE

Quote (Jason W @ July 21 2007,00:52)
Couldn't find the old file, but here is a new vpnc dsl to try out.

http://jason5876.homelinux.com/dsl/vpnc-0.4.dsl

Let me know how it works, and if it does I will submit it.

If the above link does not download by clicking it in Firefox, use wget.

$wget http://jason5876.homelinux.com/dsl/vpnc-0.4.dsl


Awesome! :-)

Sorry for the late reply, my PC died last week (dead mobo :-( ) so I've not been able to log on to the board for a few days.

I've tested out the new .dsl file/package and it does work. What is really cool is that this is the latest version that handles (sort-of) encrypted group passwords so one can simply use pcf2vpnc to generate the .conf file.

It may not work as expected if you are a new user as the location of some of the files is non-standard so it maybe worth tweaking the dsl package before officially publishing it:

1) vpnc-connect soft-link to vpnc is missing, i.e. normally one would issue:

Code Sample

sudo vpnc-connect ......


To get the dsl extension posted to work, one should issue:

Code Sample

sudo vpnc ......


If the soft-link is present it should work fine.

2) vpnc-scriptis in a (slightly) non-standard location, it is in the DSL package at /etc/vpnc-script instead of /etc/vpnc/vpnc-script. Not a huge issue but this does require an extra command line flag (or .conf setting), e.g.:

Code Sample

sudo vpnc......  --script /etc/vpnc-script


3) Sort of related to #2, there is no /etc/vpnc/ directory so one should put the *.conf file(s) in a directory and fully specifiy the path when making the connection, e.g.:

Code Sample

sudo vpnc......  ./myserver.conf


Where myserver.conf is in the current directory (i.e. ./ is not optional).

But these are very small issues!

Here is my complete, issue this to start (assuming a conf file is present in the current directory called myserver.conf):


Code Sample

  sudo vpnc ./myserver.conf  --local-port 0 --script /etc/vpnc-script


Thanks for putting this together!

I managed to fix my PC up today with a new motherboard  but I can't get networking to work under DSL so I think I need to try the ndiswrappers :-( But that's something I'll try another day! So I'm not yet in a position to use this after all :-( But I suspect I will soon!, Thanks again. Let me know if you need more feed back.

Chris
Back to top
Profile PM 
Jason W Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 260
Joined: Nov. 2006
Posted: July 24 2007,12:14 QUOTE

Chris,
 Thanks for testing, I will rebuild the package with the files in the standard places and repost it.  If you don't mind to continue helping, I hope to make a final submittable .dsl package out of it.  I will symlink vpnc-connect to vpnc, and place the vpnc-script in /etc/vpnc.  Hopefully, that will do it.  I will repost the package maybe tonight and edit this post with the link.  Thanks again.

JW
Back to top
Profile PM 
greavette Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: July 2007
Posted: Aug. 04 2007,13:01 QUOTE

Hello Jason,

Thanks for making this available!  I've tried it out (thanks largely to the instructions from clach04) and it doesn't seem to be working for me, but then I am new to DSL and may have done something improperly.

I'm running DSL-embedded (using kqemu and qemu) on my Windows XP Home laptop.  I have access to the internet in DSL before I enable vpn.  I use vpn from my Ubuntu PC and have made sure that the vpnc.conf file from my Ubuntu box matches the vpnc.conf file I created in DSL.  I connect to vpnc from the terminal and DSL reports the Process  number and says I'm connected.  My connection to the internet is immediately not available upon connecting to vpn when I open Firefox.  I also cannot ping my work PC.  I've verified that my username and passwords are correct.

Anyone else having problems?

Thanks,

greavette
Back to top
Profile PM 
clach04 Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: July 2007
Posted: Aug. 04 2007,21:49 QUOTE

Quote (greavette @ Aug. 04 2007,09:01)

Thanks for making this available!  I've tried it out (thanks largely to the instructions from clach04) and it doesn't seem to be working for me, but then I am new to DSL and may have done something improperly.

I'm running DSL-embedded (using kqemu and qemu) on my Windows XP Home laptop.  I have access to the internet in DSL before I enable vpn.  I use vpn from my Ubuntu PC and have made sure that the vpnc.conf file from my Ubuntu box matches the vpnc.conf file I created in DSL.  I connect to vpnc from the terminal and DSL reports the Process  number and says I'm connected.  My connection to the internet is immediately not available upon connecting to vpn when I open Firefox.  I also cannot ping my work PC.  I've verified that my username and passwords are correct.


As you have it working in Ubuntu you've already tried the the first thing I would suggest :-)

Only tips I have are:

1) try outside of qemu, I.e. run it under real hardware. My initial hunch is the network wrapper in win32 is doing odd things.

2) If you haven't already try the "--local-port 0" param (outside of the VM and inside the VM).

3) Do the usual network sanity checks, check ip routes and dns mapping. Try pinging a known IP (e.g. 64.233.187.99 not google.com).

Loosing access to the internet may be due to the VPN server script making all your traffic go the VPN server instead of using your internet connection (i.e. tunneling is off).
Back to top
Profile PM 
greavette Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: July 2007
Posted: Aug. 08 2007,09:48 QUOTE

Quote (clach04 @ Aug. 04 2007,17:49)
Quote (greavette @ Aug. 04 2007,09:01)

Thanks for making this available!  I've tried it out (thanks largely to the instructions from clach04) and it doesn't seem to be working for me, but then I am new to DSL and may have done something improperly.

I'm running DSL-embedded (using kqemu and qemu) on my Windows XP Home laptop.  I have access to the internet in DSL before I enable vpn.  I use vpn from my Ubuntu PC and have made sure that the vpnc.conf file from my Ubuntu box matches the vpnc.conf file I created in DSL.  I connect to vpnc from the terminal and DSL reports the Process  number and says I'm connected.  My connection to the internet is immediately not available upon connecting to vpn when I open Firefox.  I also cannot ping my work PC.  I've verified that my username and passwords are correct.


As you have it working in Ubuntu you've already tried the the first thing I would suggest :-)

Only tips I have are:

1) try outside of qemu, I.e. run it under real hardware. My initial hunch is the network wrapper in win32 is doing odd things.

2) If you haven't already try the "--local-port 0" param (outside of the VM and inside the VM).

3) Do the usual network sanity checks, check ip routes and dns mapping. Try pinging a known IP (e.g. 64.233.187.99 not google.com).

Loosing access to the internet may be due to the VPN server script making all your traffic go the VPN server instead of using your internet connection (i.e. tunneling is off).

Hello Clach04,

I won't be able to try this outside of qemu until I have a spare drive.  For now I can only run this from my USB using the embedded version.

I did try using the "--local-port 0".  Still nothing.

I did notice a message when I ran it again (not sure how I missed it the first time?).  I use the following instruction:
"sudo vpnc /mnt/hdb/vpnc.conf --local-port 0 --script /etc/vpnc-script"
I'm asked to input my password and then I receive the following messages:
"readlink: /dev/net/tun: No such file or directory"
"VPNC started in background (pid: 631)..."

Although it looks like the process is started, I don't know what it means that there is no tun directory?  I tried googling the message but nothing came up to suggest how to fix it (or even if it needs to be fixed).

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

greavette
Back to top
Profile PM 
18 replies since Mar. 19 2007,16:14 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (4) </ 1 2 [3] 4 >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: DSL and KVPNC

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code