Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (3) </ [1] 2 3 >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: basic WPA help please< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
setecio Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 89
Joined: Nov. 2006
Posted: Aug. 08 2007,16:14 QUOTE

Hi all.

I'm hoping for a bit of help setting up WPA. I have wireless working without encryption, but I wouldn't class myself much beyond a Linux / DSL beginner.

DSL3.3, Using a Netgear WG511T atheros chipset so it is automatically recognised by DSL.

Without WPA, I switch on and type :
Code Sample

sudo ifconfig ath0 up
sudo wlcardconfig
sudo pump -i ath0


(I enter my wireless config when the gui pops up, line2, but all I enter is the ESSID for ath0 (SSIDFORDSL) and the encryption key for ath0 (pskfordsl), I leave the rest blank )

Having searched the forum for WPA, I have picked up bits and pieces but can't put them all together. Do I ... ?

Create a txt file /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf which contains only :

Code Sample

network={
 ssid=my_essid_here
 key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
 pairwise=TKIP
 psk=my_wpa_password_here
}


and then as root type some sudo commands ?

Is the wpa_supplicant.conf file above correct ?
What do I type as root, I'm thinking ...

Code Sample

sudo ifconfig ath0 up
sudo wlcardconfig
sudo iwlist ath0 scan
sudo wpa_supplicant -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -iath0 -d
sudo pump -i ath0



Any corrections appreciated, as I am piecing together a jigsaw without actually understanding it.
Is there anything else that I need to do ?

Thanks.
Back to top
Profile PM 
^thehatsrule^ Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 3275
Joined: July 2006
Posted: Aug. 08 2007,17:44 QUOTE

Forum search: i.e. http://damnsmalllinux.org/cgi-bin....t=17885
I suppose you could try taking off the ndiswrapper flag part
Back to top
Profile PM 
setecio Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 89
Joined: Nov. 2006
Posted: Aug. 08 2007,19:01 QUOTE

Yep, I'm trying to piece it together from forum posts.

EDIT : I forgot the "" for my SSID and psk in the .conf file so I got alot of LINE errors. Fixed that ...now

Trying the code in my first post I get the following response from sudo wpa_supplicant -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -iath0 -d

I just get the same thing scrolling down the terminal window with pauses. It appears to be trying to connect, but not able to for whatever reason, and going round in circles, trying the same thing every few seconds (I can see 'setting authentication timeout : 5 sec 0 usec' and Authentiaction with 00:00:00:00:00:00 timed out)

How can I pause the terminal screen or exit out of the routine so that I can read it ? I think it is not authenticating, something is wrong. The psk is just the WPA passphrase in the router, isn't it ?
Back to top
Profile PM 
setecio Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 89
Joined: Nov. 2006
Posted: Aug. 08 2007,21:14 QUOTE

Here is a photo of the routine that just repeats in the terminal window (I think the start of the routine is actually half way down the 2nd photo, but it just keeps repeating ) :
AS you can see there are 2 wifi networks available and it correctly tries to associate with the correct one (SSIDFORDSL)


Back to top
Profile PM 
^thehatsrule^ Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 3275
Joined: July 2006
Posted: Aug. 08 2007,21:34 QUOTE

It would appear that the prism2 driver does not support that operation: "ioctl[PRISM2_IOCTL_HOSTAPD]: Operation not supported"
Back to top
Profile PM 
11 replies since Aug. 08 2007,16:14 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (3) </ [1] 2 3 >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: basic WPA help please

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code