Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: DSL won't load. Toshiba Satellite pro4600< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
y_farkash Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: Nov. 2006
Posted: Nov. 11 2006,02:34 QUOTE


I'm new to DSL but I've used a bit of Ubuntu before.
I have a Toshiba Satellite pro 4600 (PIII, 128MB) and I am trying to load DSL from cd.

I get to the boot menu and command line but no matter which options I try (including the safest ones) the boot process get stuck after this stage:

"ACPI bios found, activating modules ac battery button fan processor thermal"

That's it, nothing happens.

I've tried loading DSL into RAM, I tried various frame buffers and VGA modes and the safeload as well but all hang at the same point.

Any ideas?


Back to top
Profile PM 
^thehatsrule^ Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 3275
Joined: July 2006
Posted: Nov. 11 2006,05:49 QUOTE

try some power options, ie noacpi acpi=off noapm apm=off etc.

else try the failsafe code, or check the wiki or F2/F3 for more info
Back to top
Profile PM 
chanke Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: Jan. 2006
Posted: Jan. 22 2007,04:23 QUOTE

Try DSL 2.0 it is best version for Satellite PRO 4600 (I'm writing to you on my 4600 right now!) It even supports wireless network.

Remember to use frame buffer ie inthe startup line type

Good Luck

Back to top
Profile PM 
ajburch Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: June 2006
Posted: Mar. 20 2007,18:58 QUOTE

In the Bios (current version is 2.60), change the PCI options on page 2 from 'auto select' to 'PCIC'. When you boot, type fb1024x768. The Xsetup will start up, choose xfbdev and follow up with the questions about the mouse and keyboard. This works. After 2 friggin weeks of playing around with it, it works now.
Back to top
Profile PM 
3 replies since Nov. 11 2006,02:34 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: DSL won't load. Toshiba Satellite pro4600

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code