Damn Small Linux (DSL) Forums
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 23, 2017, 10:27:53 PM

Login with username, password and session length
News
The new DSL forums are now open.
Stats
302231 Posts in 295164 Topics by 307 Members
Latest Member: Arthurfiern
Search:     Advanced search
* Home Help Search Login Register
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic

+  Damn Small Linux (DSL) Forums
|-+  Damn Small Linux
| |-+  Laptops
| | |-+  Mouse buttons stop working
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Mouse buttons stop working  (Read 5544 times)
steve68
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile
« on: October 27, 2013, 12:30:39 AM »

Hello,

4.11 RC2 on an IBM 600x, 32G RAM, 40G HD. PS/2 3-button mouse.  I'm new to DSL, but have used Ubuntu, Mint, and Puppy.

Shortly after the desktop comes up, the mouse buttons stop working, although I can still move the cursor around. I've noticed it with several apps such as Dillo, EmelFM and the DSLPanel.  I Ctrl-Alt-Del and "startx" again, but the same thing keeps happening.  It happens with a frugal install, LiveCD, toram, xvesa, fbox, etc. Huh

Any ideas?  Let me know what other info I can post to help.

thanks,

Steve


Logged
steve68
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2013, 01:09:22 PM »

I don't know whether this is a clue, but the hang appears to occur whenever ram usage goes above 6% (20 out of 313MB).  This happens in several situations- toram, live CD, from my frugal install, etc.

Thanks in advance for the help,
Steve
Logged
CNK
Full Member
***
Posts: 226


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2013, 05:14:14 AM »

Wow, that is odd. Are you using the built-in mouse or an external one? Does the other work?

Do other OSs run OK? Perhaps you might want to try MEMTEST86 (bootable RAM testing program, included on a lot of bootdiscs).

If the RAM is OK, I've never heard of memory being directly connected to the mouse functions in DSL. I could be wrong though...
Logged
steve68
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2013, 10:51:42 AM »

Thanks for your reply! I did some more testing last night, and I was able to gradually open a bazillion programs at once, jacking up ram usage to 40% with no slowdown.  I still don't know what's causing this, but I'm going to try to systematically work through some boot options. 

Would it be worth trying an older version of DSL? I ran into this with puppy; some of the newer versions didn't work when updated.

Thanks again,
Steve
Logged
CNK
Full Member
***
Posts: 226


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2013, 10:02:03 PM »

When it comes to other versions, I'd start with DSL-N. It is quite a bit older than the latest DSL, however it uses a more modern kernel which might not exhibit the same symptoms.
Logged
Lizavials
Newbie
*
Posts: 9

117323747 rkoliv@yandex.com Lizavials Lizavials
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2017, 08:13:48 PM »

There are several features that could be described as "switching by mouse buttons". Could you please clarify which one youre referring to and how youve tried to turn it off?
Logged

Я генерирую добро. (http://www.vixino.autoprichal.ru/)
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Mercury design by Bloc