Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Unable to boot on old Toshiba laptop
I have a Toshiba Satellite Pro 4200 (P3, 533MHz, 128MB RAM) and am really having a hard time getting DSL to boot.

Before we begin, I'm a Linux veteran of 30 years, so talk technical, as I shall be doing.

Firstly, the live CD will not boot. Or not past loading the kernel. It just kernel panics. Which is no biggie really, there's ways around that. I'm running the laptop on an 8GB SD card in a 44-pin IDE to SD adapter. So I can install "offline" using my main PC and QEmu, which I have done.  I've made an image of the OS, fully working, using QEmu running with the same specs as the laptop (P3 cpu, 128MB). That was tricky to begin with, as the initrd is too big for 128MB RAM - you can't have an initrd that is more than 1/4 the amount of available space, and at 39MB that's just a few MB too many. But rebuilding the initrd with modules=dep brings it down to a mere 8MB which is perfect.

So... moving it on to the laptop. The kernel boots, and the initrd loads. Then it tries to (as far as I can tell) mount the root filesystem, and fails, and can't run init.  But I cannot work out why.  It doesn't tell me that is what is happening, in so many words, it's what I have inferred from the debug output I can get.  Which is (I had to video capture this and step it frame by frame to get the juicy bits...):

Code:
/init: line 7: mkdir: Value too large for defined data type
/init: line 8: mkdir: Value too large for defined data type
/init: line 9: mkdir: Value too large for defined data type
/init: line 10: mkdir: Value too large for defined data type
/init: line 11: mkdir: Value too large for defined data type
/init: line 12: mkdir: Value too large for defined data type
/init: line 13: mount: Value too large for defined data type
/init: line 14: mount: Value too large for defined data type
/init: line 17: cat: Value too large for defined data type
Loading, please wait...