Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (6) </ [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: No Sound, One More Time!, No Sound with ES1869 Card in laptop< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
tedmoore99 Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: Mar. 2006
Posted: May 22 2006,22:00 QUOTE


Well I am back!  For some reason, my Compaq Armada laptop will not find the sound card in dsl.  I tried sndconfig and used the "ESS1868" selection, but no sound.  In WindowsME on the same computer, I looked at the driver information and found the following:  ES1869, I/O 0230-023F, I/O 0250-0257, I/O 0388-0388, I/O 0320-0321, IRQ 5, DMA 5, DMA 0
When I ran sndconfig and selected the various ESS card selections, nothing worked.
Where do I go from here Forum?
Back to top
Profile PM 
jot Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: May 2006
Posted: May 22 2006,22:33 QUOTE

Hi tedmoore99,

I have a Compaq Armada 1598DMT, glad to find someone with similiar model :)

I had many troubles getting sound to work on my laptop, well I didn't have sound at all for about a year.

In my case I had to go to BIOS andbring back the default settings.

Ok, but I don't think you should do that. Maybe try to issue this command :

modprobe sb io=0x220 irq=5 dma=1 dma16=5 mpu_io=0x330 isapnp=0

those values work for me well, but you should try to change them to, for example :

modprobe sb io=0x230 irq=5 dma=0 dma16=5 mpu_io=0x320 isapnp=0

don't forget about raising the default volumes with mixer (dmix)
Back to top
Profile PM 
tedmoore99 Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: Mar. 2006
Posted: May 23 2006,20:17 QUOTE

Thanks for the information.  I tried the two modprobe commands and neither one worked.  I am not very familiar with sound card commands so I don't know what to do now.  Any more ideas?
Back to top
Profile PM 
tedmoore99 Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: Mar. 2006
Posted: May 23 2006,21:31 QUOTE

Installed the ALSA module fromm dsl.  Tried to install "es18xx" which is supposed to be the driver for my card.  modprobe came back with "no device or device busy."  I am stumped.  Forum, I need your help.  Remember, this card works fine when I boot up in WindowsME!  What am I missing?  Thanks in advance.
Back to top
Profile PM 
piccolo Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 286
Joined: Mar. 2006
Posted: May 24 2006,21:20 QUOTE

Installed the ALSA module from dsl

If you installed correctly ALSA you must be able to execute the command:


If errors then two ideas:

IDEA I (Configuring OSS)

1. Execute command:

cat /proc/interrupts

Below a example of result from "cat /proc/interrupts"  

0:    10784844          XT-PIC  timer
1:       27945          XT-PIC  keyboard
2:           0          XT-PIC  cascade
3:      310046          XT-PIC  orinoco_cs
8:           1          XT-PIC  rtc
11:          0          XT-PIC  Texas Instruments PCI1251A, Texas Instruments PCI1251A (#2), usb-uhci
12:    1380425          XT-PIC  PS/2 Mouse
14:      74469          XT-PIC  ide0
15:       2202          XT-PIC  ide1
NMI:         0
LOC:         0
ERR:         0
MIS:         0

First column is the assigned interrupts (assigned irqs).
In this example, free irqs are: 6, 7, 9, 10, 13.

Analogically, to know free dma's following command:

cat /proc/dma

That information will be useful for next step.

2. Execute the sndconfig utility with the option --noprobe so:

sndconfig --noprobe

Using the option "noprobe" sndconfig pass directly to manual configuration.

3. Choose the driver, assign the free irq's and the free dma's from your system according to information from first step.

If IDEA I fails then IDEA II:

IDEA II (Configuring ALSA)

The "alsaconf" utility is for ALSA like to the "sndconfig" utility for OSS.

1. Download alsaconf utility:

sudo su
apt-get install alsaconf

2. Execute utility so:


Choosing the correct driver and using the same criteria to assign resources descripted on IDEA I

3. alsaconf utility can configure several sound cards, then you must choose the first option when the utility begin again (no sound card) to exit from utility and to save the first configuration or the utility will continue indefinitely configuring sound cards.

Robin Hood used Linux
Back to top
Profile PM 
29 replies since May 22 2006,22:00 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (6) </ [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: No Sound, One More Time!

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code