Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (3) </ 1 [2] 3 >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: log-file of bootproces, is there a log-file of the bootproces< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
clivesay Offline





Group: Guests
Posts: 935
Joined: Dec. 2003
Posted: Sep. 19 2005,14:55 QUOTE

bookmark
Back to top
Profile PM MSN YIM 
Ruthje Offline





Group: Awaiting Authorisation
Posts: 17
Joined: Aug. 2005
Posted: Sep. 19 2005,15:02 QUOTE

Quote (mikshaw @ Sep. 19 2005,10:36)
One thing you could do, if you are concerned only with what is happening from bootlocal.sh:
Rename bootlocal.sh to something_else.sh
Create a new empty bootlocal.sh
Add the command "something_else.sh &>/home/dsl/bootlocal.log"

Just tried, but the opt folder isn't backed up so goodbye old bootlocal.sh So I am writing new bootlocal now, wil rename it and back it up this time and give it an other shot.
Back to top
Profile PM 
mikshaw Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4856
Joined: July 2004
Posted: Sep. 19 2005,19:34 QUOTE

Ah, yes...I should have added "back up both files".
Also, I should mention that bootlocal should have "#!/bin/sh" as its first line, so the new bootlocal would be:
Code Sample
#!/bin/sh
/opt/something_else.sh &>/home/dsl/bootlocal.log

...and it should be executable, too.

So....maybe a more simple explaination would be:
1) make a copy of /opt/bootlocal.sh
2) edit the original bootlocal so the only command is
/opt/new_bootlocal.sh &>/home/dsl/bootlocal.log
3) back up both files

This basically just sends all output from your script to a log file.  It's a roundabout way, but I figured it would be simpler than redirecting every individual bootlocal command to a file.


--------------
http://www.tldp.org/LDP/intro-linux/html/index.html
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
Ruthje Offline





Group: Awaiting Authorisation
Posts: 17
Joined: Aug. 2005
Posted: Sep. 20 2005,14:01 QUOTE

ok the logfile is working and simple commands give a output, but not the command I want to perform.
I'm using screen in my command and I think that is the reason.
Anyway it seems I just made a simple type error somewhere, because it is autoplaying in a screen at the moment.
Waiting for the computer to reboot everytime takes a long time :(
For the people who a interrested this is the command I was debugging.
screen -S mp3 mp3blaster -a /home/dsl/3voor12.lst
Thanx for the help
Back to top
Profile PM 
mikshaw Offline





Group: Members
Posts: 4856
Joined: July 2004
Posted: Sep. 20 2005,15:25 QUOTE

Since screen is a whole other system of shells, it's possible that the output is being controlled by screen rather than being sent to stdout/stderr.  Just guessing as usual =o)

Just out of curiosity...if it's just a headless jukebox, why use screen?


--------------
http://www.tldp.org/LDP/intro-linux/html/index.html
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 
13 replies since Sep. 19 2005,13:01 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (3) </ 1 [2] 3 >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: log-file of bootproces

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code