Search Members Help

» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

Mini-ITX Boards Sale, Fanless BareBones Mini-ITX, Bootable 1G DSL USBs, 533MHz Fanless PC <-- SALE $200 each!
Get The Official Damn Small Linux Book. DSL Market , Great VPS hosting provided by Tektonic
Pages: (3) </ 1 2 [3] >/

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

reply to topic new topic new poll
Topic: Network config< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
mikemike Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: Feb. 2005
Posted: Feb. 19 2005,14:18 QUOTE

Thanks for the reply, A.

My system environment is exactly the same..  Win XP SP2, wireless networking behind a router, and I'm using Zone Alarm.  I guess it wasn't meant to be for me.

I'll check back with the next release of DSL.  In the mean time, Fedora Core 3 on VMWare Beta 5 is working out very nicely for me.

Back to top
Profile PM 
tronik Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 182
Joined: Dec. 2004
Posted: Feb. 19 2005,17:07 QUOTE

vmware does weird bridging things to windows XP and installed a couple programs that run in the background. do you think those could be causing some interference?

atlanta, GA, USA

DSL 1.0+2.4.27/sata : P4 2.4norwood : 512ddr2 : nvgf4ti4200-64 : 128mbLexar Jumpdrive Elite
Back to top
Profile PM WEB 

Posted: Mar. 08 2005,22:02 QUOTE

Quote (cbagger01 @ Feb. 11 2005,18:20)
I use DSL-embedded on a MSWindows (WinXP SP1) computer that is hooked up to a DHCP enabled network.  While using other MSWindows programs like Internet Explorer, I can connect to the Internet just fine.

When I start up DSL embedded, I don't need to do anything extra regarding DHCP or netcardconfig.

DSL automatically configures the virtual NIC and it works fine with no further tweaking from scripts or control panel.

Are you able to 'ssh' or 'telnet' to other hosts ? or can you check other hosts by using 'nslookup' ?
I have no problem to connect to Internet through browser but was not successful for the commands above :-(

Back to top
cbagger01 Offline

Group: Members
Posts: 4264
Joined: Oct. 2003
Posted: Mar. 09 2005,04:38 QUOTE

I have no other hosts to "telnet" or "ssh" to at the moment.

However, I can run nslookup.

The busybox version that is included in DSL is very brief and limited, so I apt-get install dnsutils

typing nslookup reveals:


and I can use it to look up other hosts on the greater Internet.
Back to top
Profile PM 

Posted: Mar. 09 2005,04:48 QUOTE

Thanks for all your replies but I've uninstalled DSL for the time being.  I will revisit this at a later time.  It looks like the default network settings should work fine.  I did have VMWare installed at the time so that might have been conflicting with the ethernet bridge as mentioned by one of the posters.

Thanks for all your help,
Back to top
14 replies since Feb. 08 2005,20:42 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Pages: (3) </ 1 2 [3] >/
reply to topic new topic new poll
Quick Reply: Network config

Do you wish to enable your signature for this post?
Do you wish to enable emoticons for this post?
Track this topic
View All Emoticons
View iB Code