Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Installation doubts
Hello,

DSL is totally new to me, so I feel like being in the dark.

I've run live and then installed DSL on my old Pentium II laptop, but I've some doubts:

1. "Ensure to be already connected to the net before running the installer..."
    As a newbie, I don't know how a computer with a blank disk can be already connected to any net.
    So I didn't connect it to any network and performed a basic installation.
    Hope I haven't lost anything.

2. "To use a separate boot partition you need our cli installer"
    Fine, where is it? What's its name? Is it on the CD? Or how do I get it?

3. My laptop used to run RedHat 8 and then Fedora 4. Both of them provided the siliconmotion video driver.
    Since it's missing in the distro, I guess it's impossible to run X unless I install that driver.
    To do that I need to build it by gcc.
    How do I get and properly install the gcc package, if any?

4. In fact I have to modify Grub to start the o.s. console. For who have unsupported video cards, to start the system at the command line level would be a very appreciated option.
    And what about the old /etc/inittab file? How to modify runlevels manually?

5. Man pages are missing and I couldn't find any up-to-date on-line help, so I feel totally blind.
    How do I get man pages?

Thank you so much in advance.
I'm confused: where do you see "Ensure to be already connected to the net before running the installer..."  and "To use a separate boot partition you need our cli installer"? I don't see them anywhere in the installation program.

Silicon Motion seems to be a SoC (system on chip) GPU. I've never heard of it. What's the exact model of your laptop? Whatever it is, you can download the necessary driver even if it's not on the CD.
Thank you so much for replying.

Those messages show *after* launching cli-installer.

My laptop is an ASUS L7300 Pentium II 300 MHz.